Artist: Young the Giant
Title: Mind Over Matter
Genre: Alternative
Release Date: 2014
Duration: 00:52:54
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Fueled by Ramen

For their highly anticipated second album Mind Over Matter Young the Giant enlisted Grammy-nominated producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen — known for his work with such diverse artists as Beck, Nine Inch Nails, Paramore, and M83. Featuring the electrifying lead single “It’s About Time,” the collection of songs finds the young band challenging themselves both lyrically and musically.
Mind Over Matter follows the band’s debut, Young the Giant which featured singles as ‘Apartment’ and the RIAA gold certified smashes, ‘My Body’ and ‘Cough Syrup.’ ‘My Body’ was a top 5 hit at Alternative radio and closed 2011 as the year’s fifth most-played song at the format. ‘Cough Syrup’ drew even greater success, peaking at #2 at Alternative, and enjoying crossover chart success at both Hot AC and Triple A radio. ‘Cough Syrup’ remains in regular rotation at radio outlets nationwide and was recently performed on the season premiere of NBC’s top-rated show “The Voice.”

On their hotly anticipated sophomore album, Mind Over Matter, Orange County modern rockers Young the Giant skate even closer toward the big-budget glitz their 2011 debut promised. Propelled by the success of their breakout hit, “Cough Syrup,” they’ve made the jump to Warner subsidiary Fueled by Ramen, home to acts like Panic! At the Disco and Paramore, a seemingly more relatable roster than at their former home, the metal-centric Roadrunner Records. For Mind Over Matter, producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen has amped up the group’s chiming, angular riffs and compressed the shimmering synths to present an able, straightforward modern indie rock record. Songs like the lead single “It’s About Time” and “In My Home” aim to please by generally rocking hard and emoting enthusiastically, though they often struggle to really make an impact. The music is well played and the songs dynamic, but the type of mainstream guitar/synth rock Young the Giant pursue is littered with similar acts, making it tough to rise above the din. Comparisons to stadium-filling bands like Coldplay and Phoenix are not out of line, but there is a general lack of distinction to much of the music on Mind Over Matter, suggesting that the band still hasn’t discovered its defining characteristics. On the neon synth-soul of the album’s title cut, frontman Sameer Gadhia sings of being “a young man after all,” so perhaps Young the Giant’s most unique ideas are still in front of them. The band is at its best on some of the album’s lighter cuts. “Firelight” pairs a beautifully haunting melody over a subtle blend of fingerpicked electric guitars and the glimmering midtempo pop of “Waves” glows with melody and charm. They’ve found a capable formula that will appeal to many, but some more personality would go a long way to seal the deal.


  1. Slow Dive – 0:48
  2. Anagram – 4:54
  3. It’s About Time – 3:46
  4. Crystallized – 4:01
  5. Mind Over Matter – 4:05
  6. Daydreamer – 3:59
  7. Firelight – 5:34
  8. Camera – 5:13
  9. In My Home – 3:40
  10. Eros – 4:11
  11. Teachers – 3:41
  12. Waves – 4:39
  13. Paralysis – 4:34