Artist: Yeol Eum Son
Title: Modern Times: Berg, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Ravel
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2016
Duration: 01:14:19
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Decca

Classical pianist Son Yeol-eum has returned to the limelight with her first album in eight years, “Modern Times.” It features a wide range of music from jazzy razzmatazz swing tunes to sounds that remind listeners of a dark and desolate night.

“This musical theme is something I have always wanted to pursue because I think this style of music represents such important and influential times in our history,” said Son, during a press conference held at the Stradeum concert hall in Seoul on Wednesday.

“All of the music selected from the album are from the early 20th century, an era in which I think saw a big shift in both world history and music culture,” she added.


  1. Piano Sonata Op. 1 – 11:14
  2. Toccata, Op. 11 – 4:40
  3. Trois mouvements de Petrouchka: I. Danse russe – 2:49
  4. Trois mouvements de Petrouchka: II. Chez Petrouchka – 5:27
  5. Trois mouvements de Petrouchka: III. La Semaine Grasse – 9:55
  6. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: I. Prélude – 3:45
  7. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: II. Fugue – 3:44
  8. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: III. Forlane – 7:13
  9. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: IV. Rigaudon – 3:01
  10. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: V. Menuet – 5:45
  11. Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68a: VI. Toccata – 3:57
  12. La Valse – 12:56