Various Artists – Kumo No Muko (雲の向こう – A Journey Into 80s Japan’s Ambient & Synth Pop Sound (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 59:00 minutes | 586 MB | Genre: Electronic, Ambient
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jazzy Couscous

Since so many European labels have been reissuing lost and obscure 1980s Japanese ambient albums of late, it was probably inevitable that at least one label would put together a compilation paying tribute to the sound. It turns out that Jazzy Couscous has won the race with Kumo No Moko, a superb double album that does a terrific job in putting Japan’s ’80s ambient scene in context. As you’d expect, the majority of the tracks feature either dreamy electronic sounds or a mixture of acoustic and electronic instrumentation, with nods to jazz coming thick and fast. There are naturally a couple of fairly well-known names on show, but for the most part the compilers have done a terrific job in highlight lesser-known tracks from unsung heroes.

01. Takashi Kokubo – Underwater Dreaming
02. Keizo Inoue – Kitsu Tsuki
03. Nobuyoshi Ino – Window
04. Masaaki Ohmura – A Touch Of Temptation
05. Dip In The Pool – Kuroi Dress No Onna
06. Shigeru Suzuki – Silver Snow Shining
07. Chika Asamoto – Obsession
08. Mami Koyama – Love Song
09. Fumio Miyashita – In The Beginning
10. Yoshio Suzuki – The Mirage
11. Yumi Murata – Watashi No Bus
12. Chakra – Itohoni