Artist: Uriah Heep
Title: Look At Yourself
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1971
Duration: 02:00:42
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Sanctuary Records

Initially released in 1971 “Look at Yourself” is the third album by British rock band Uriah Heep. Fast forward 46 years it still remains a timeless classic. Painstakingly remastered by Andy Pearce this 2CD set also includes previously unreleased alternative mixes that reignite and rejuvenate iconic tracks such as ‘July Morning’ & title track ‘Look At Yourself’.

The third time proved to be the charm for Uriah Heep: on Look at Yourself, the group perfects its fusion of heavy metal power and prog rock majesty, and the result is one of the best albums in the Heep catalog. The gauntlet is thrown down on the title track, a powerful rocker that layers its relentless hard rock attack with ornate vocal harmonies and quicksilver organ runs before climaxing with a tribal-sounding drum jam. The remainder of Look at Yourself presents an effective blend of gutsy guitar rock and organ-fueled prog excursions. In the rock arena, the gems are “Tears in My Eyes,” a powerful rocker driven by an almost rockabilly-style riff that stops midway for a surprising vocal harmony break supported by smooth wah-wah guitar, and “Love Machine,” a short, punchy slice of hard rock built on an infectious, stomping rhythm. However, the best track on the album is one of the more prog-oriented ones: “July Morning” starts with a pastoral organ riff, then builds into a heavy yet symphonic rock tune that divides its time between gentle acoustic verses and emotional, organ-fueled choruses before climaxing in a monstrous jam dominated by a swirling Moog synthesizer lead. Special note should also be taken of David Byron’s vocal performance; his multi-octave, operatic style was no doubt an influence on later metal vocalists like Rob Halford. All in all, Look at Yourself is both one of Uriah Heep’s finest, most cohesive albums and a high point of 1970s heavy metal. ~~ AllMusic Review by Donald A. Guarisco


  1. Look At Yourself – 5:10
  2. I Wanna Be Free – 4:02
  3. July Morning – 10:35
  4. Tears in My Eyes – 5:01
  5. Shadows of Grief – 8:41
  6. What Should Be Done – 4:14
  7. Love Machine – 3:38
  8. I Wanna Be Free (Alternate Version) – 4:20
  9. Tears in My Eyes (Alternate Version) – 5:55
  10. What Should Be Done (Alternate Version) – 4:35
  11. Shadows of Grief (Alternate Version) – 9:34
  12. Look At Yourself (Alternate Version) – 5:15
  13. July Morning (Alternate Version) – 11:19
  14. Why Fourteen Minutes (Alternate Version) – 14:17
  15. Love Machine (Alternate Version) – 3:55
  16. What’s Within My Heart (Alternate Version) – 5:34
  17. July Morning (Alternate Version, Live) – 11:28
  18. Look At Yourself (Alternate Single Version) – 3:19