The Supraphonics – The Supraphonics Play the Ventures (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 34:11 minutes | 447 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Max Recordings

After their incredibly non-successful debut, Christmas With The Supraphonics!, Pulaski County’s #1 surf combo is back with another record destined for the cut-out bin. Still, the album is a very well-intentioned effort by a total fanatic to showcase amazing original instrumental songs by The Ventures—an extremely popular group best known (with some exceptions, of course) for their cover versions of other people’s songs.

Hidden in plain sight on dozens of albums of mostly covers, The Ventures released scores of incredibly innovative and meticulously-arranged original songs. The Supraphonics selected 12 of their favorites and tried not to ruin them. We hope you agree that in most cases they didn’t. Many of the songs on this album come from The Ventures’ “psychedelic period” of the mid- to-later 1960s—a time when they embraced a broad palate of instruments, effects, and recording approaches. So, find a beanbag chair and a set of headphones, and prepare to be taken on a somewhat wild and largely competent sonic venture.


01. The Supraphonics – The Swingin’ Creeper
02. The Supraphonics – He Never Came Back
03. The Supraphonics – Surf Rider
04. The Supraphonics – Lonely Girl
05. The Supraphonics – Psychedelic Venture
06. The Supraphonics – Pedal Pusher
07. The Supraphonics – Driving Guitars
08. The Supraphonics – Guitar Freakout
09. The Supraphonics – Reflections
10. The Supraphonics – Guitar Psychedelics
11. The Supraphonics – Mod East
12. The Supraphonics – Love Goddess of Venus