Artist: The Stills-Young Band
Title: Decade
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1977
Duration: 02:25:30
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Reprise

Released in October 1977, the essential anthology Decade (a triple vinyl album back then!) gives a detailed overview of Neil Young’s work between 1966 and 1976. In 35 titles (including 6 unreleased pieces), the Loner’s genius bursts out for all to see. Mostly solo, but also with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills and Nash, this collection particularly shows that this decade was his most fascinating. Building on masterfully written songs, Neil Young mixes rock, folk and country with great originality for the time. In both ballads and much meaner songs, his style is like fireworks. He is most likely the most original artist of his generation. One that never shies away from questioning himself either. Novices can start climbing the mountain of his works with this five-star compilation record, before digging deeper, one album at a time.

Given the quirkiness of Neil Young’s recording career, with its frequent cancellations of releases and last-minute rearrangements of material, it is a relief to report that this two-disc compilation is so conventional and so satisfying. A 35-track selection of the best of Young’s work between 1966 and 1976, it includes songs performed by Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and the Stills-Young Band, as well as solo work. In addition to five unreleased songs, Decade offers such key tracks as the Springfield’s “Mr. Soul,” “Broken Arrow,” and “I Am a Child”; “Sugar Mountain,” a song that had appeared only as a single before; “Cinnamon Girl,” “Down by the River,” and “Cowgirl in the Sand” from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere; “Southern Man” and the title track from After the Gold Rush; and “Old Man” and the chart-topping “Heart of Gold” from Harvest. This is the material that built Young’s reputation between 1966 and 1972, although he is more idiosyncratic with the later material, including the blockbusters “Like a Hurricane” and “Cortez the Killer” but mixing in more unreleased recordings as the set draws to a close. He seems intent on making the album a listenable one that will appeal to a broad base of fans, and he succeeds despite the exclusion of much of the harrowing work of 1973-1975. Nevertheless, the album is an ideal sampler for new listeners, and since there is no one-disc Young compilation covering any significant portion of his career, this lengthy chronicle is the place to start.


  1. Down to the Wire – 2:32
  2. Burned – 2:17
  3. Mr. Soul – 2:49
  4. Broken Arrow – 6:15
  5. Expecting to Fly – 3:48
  6. Sugar Mountain – 5:46
  7. I Am a Child – 2:19
  8. The Loner – 3:52
  9. The Old Laughing Lady – 6:00
  10. Cinnamon Girl – 3:00
  11. Down By the River – 9:20
  12. Cowgirl In the Sand – 10:06
  13. I Believe in You – 3:27
  14. After the Gold Rush – 3:46
  15. Southern Man – 5:30
  16. Helpless – 3:40
  17. Ohio – 3:01
  18. Soldier – 2:29
  19. Old Man – 3:22
  20. A Man Needs a Maid – 4:01
  21. Harvest – 3:12
  22. Heart of Gold – 3:07
  23. Star of Bethlehem – 2:50
  24. The Needle and the Damage Done – 2:03
  25. Tonight’s the Night, Pt. 1 – 4:41
  26. Tired Eyes – 4:33
  27. Walk On – 2:42
  28. For the Turnstiles – 3:01
  29. Winterlong – 3:08
  30. Deep Forbidden Lake – 3:45
  31. Like a Hurricane – 8:17
  32. Love Is a Rose – 2:17
  33. Cortez the Killer – 7:32
  34. Campaigner – 3:31
  35. Long May You Run – 3:49