Artist: The Doors
Title: The Doors
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1967
Duration: 02:15:33
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Rhino – Elektra

The Doors: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes a remastered version of the album’s original stereo mix, available on CD for the first time in a decade and remastered for the first time in nearly 30 years. The album’s original mono mix was also remastered for this set and is making its CD debut. The third disc features live performance from The Matrix in San Francisco on March 7, 1967 — recordings heard on this deluxe edition were sourced from the recently discovered, original tapes, previously thought to be lost.

A tremendous debut album, and indeed one of the best first-time outings in rock history, introducing the band’s fusion of rock, blues, classical, jazz, and poetry with a knockout punch. The lean, spidery guitar and organ riffs interweave with a hypnotic menace, providing a seductive backdrop for Jim Morrison’s captivating vocals and probing prose. “Light My Fire” was the cut that topped the charts and established the group as stars, but most of the rest of the album is just as impressive, including some of their best songs: the propulsive “Break on Through” (their first single), the beguiling mystery of “The Crystal Ship,” the mysterious “End of the Night,” “Take It as It Comes” (one of several tunes besides “Light My Fire” that also had hit potential), and the stomping rock of “Soul Kitchen” and “Twentieth Century Fox.” The 11-minute Oedipal drama “The End” was the group at its most daring and, some would contend, overambitious. It was nonetheless a haunting cap to an album whose nonstop melodicism and dynamic tension would never be equaled by the group again, let alone bettered.


  1. Break On Through (To The Other Side) – 2:29
  2. Soul Kitchen – 3:35
  3. The Crystal Ship – 2:35
  4. Twentieth Century Fox – 2:34
  5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) – 3:20
  6. Light My Fire – 7:10
  7. Back Door Man – 3:34
  8. I Looked At You – 2:22
  9. End Of The Night – 2:53
  10. Take It As It Comes – 2:17
  11. The End – 11:51
  12. Break On Through (To The Other Side) (Mono) – 2:29
  13. Soul Kitchen (Mono) – 3:35
  14. The Crystal Ship (Mono) – 2:34
  15. Twentieth Century Fox (Mono) – 2:33
  16. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) (Mono) – 3:21
  17. Light My Fire (Mono) – 7:01
  18. Back Door Man (Mono) – 3:35
  19. I Looked At You (Mono) – 2:24
  20. End Of The Night (Mono) – 2:54
  21. Take It As It Comes (Mono) – 2:18
  22. The End (Mono) – 11:46
  23. Break On Through (To The Other Side) (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 3:35
  24. Soul Kitchen (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 4:06
  25. The Crystal Ship (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 3:07
  26. Twentieth Century Fox (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 2:54
  27. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 4:03
  28. Light My Fire (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 8:52
  29. Back Door Man (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 5:45
  30. The End (Live at Matrix, 3-7-1967) – 14:15