Artist: Sylvie Vartan
Title: Gift Wrapped from Paris
Genre: Pop
Release Date: 1965
Duration: 00:28:15
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: RCA/Legacy

Sylvie Vartan is a French pop institution, as popular today as when she first took the y-y scene by storm in 1962. The vivacious and always stylish Sylvie was also a pioneer amongst the new breed of French female artists, crossing the Atlantic several times in the early 60s to record. She proved remarkably adept at tackling material in English, which resulted in many superb recordings chanted in a husky, compelling accent. Her main foreign release in that era was the US-only album “Gift Wrapped From Paris”. It combined tracks from the 1963 “Sylvie Nashville” LP along with new sessions cut in New York in late 1964 with a crack session crew plus Ellie Greenwich and friends on backing vocals, all directed by Sylvie’s brother Eddie Vartan. Later on Sylvie recorded in England and utilised the talents of her British in-house writers, Tommy Brown and Micky Jones, the latter later to become famous in the band Foreigner.


  1. One More Day – 2:22
  2. I Can’t Make Him Look at Me – 2:39
  3. One More Time – 2:19
  4. I Heard Somebody Say – 2:13
  5. I Made a Choice – 2:38
  6. My Boyfriend’s Back – 2:05
  7. Gonna Cry – 2:12
  8. Since You Don’t Care – 2:45
  9. I Wish You Well – 2:35
  10. Love Has Laid His Hand On Me – 2:10
  11. Alley Oop – 2:06
  12. It’s Not a Game – 2:16