Artist: Styx
Title: The Mission
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 00:42:03
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/88,2kHz
Label: Styx Concept

The Mission is a thrilling return to Styx’s progressive roots, complete with a courageous & visionary concept. A captivating adventure unfolds across 14 tracks, 249 million miles from home! With a sound as big as a galaxy & two years in the making, it embodies a throw-back progressive-rock feel. Recorded at Blackbird Studios in Nashville, The Mission comes complete in a true hi-fidelity analog recording & mixed with a larger than life sound. For the first time in 14 years, an all-new studio album is set to launch on June 16, 2017. The Mission is a go!

Styx kept themselves busy in the 21st century, launching a tour like clockwork every year, but they abandoned recording new material after 2003’s Cyclorama. Arriving 14 years after that record, The Mission announces Styx’s return in a grand fashion. Although The Mission has its mind on the future — it’s designed as a concept album about a mission to Mars in the year 2033 — the sound is an unapologetic throwback to the band’s late-’70s prime. In a sense, it’s a sequel to Paradise Theater, containing the same kind of over-baked story and, more importantly, a bunch of songs that sound like sequels to “Too Much Time on My Hands” and “Rockin’ the Paradise.” Dennis DeYoung’s Broadway streak is notably absent, but it’s not necessarily missed because Styx craft these operatic rockers so well. Apart from the slight sheen in the production, these songs could be mistaken for prime Styx, and that’s a quite thing to say for a band that is not only firmly within its status as a legacy act, but one that has gone so long without recording new material at all.


  1. Overture – 1:23
  2. Gone Gone Gone – 2:08
  3. Hundred Million Miles From Home – 3:40
  4. Trouble At The Big Show – 2:30
  5. Locomotive – 5:04
  6. Radio Silence – 4:19
  7. The Greater Good – 4:10
  8. Time May Bend – 2:31
  9. Ten Thousand Ways – 1:22
  10. Red Storm – 6:04
  11. All Systems Stable – 0:18
  12. Khedive – 2:04
  13. The Outpost – 3:51
  14. Mission To Mars – 2:46