Steph Richards – Supersense (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:23 minutes | 676 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Northern Spy

As one of the most exciting artists working in jazz’s avant-garde Steph Richards is no stranger to challenging listeners’ expectations, helping them hear things they might not have previously imagined with experiments that range from playing underwater to incorporating a carousel into one of her compositions. But the trumpeter, composer and bandleader is pushing in a still more unusual direction on her upcoming release SUPERSENSE (out October 23 on Northern Spy). Along with a trio of fellow all-star improvisers — Jason Moran, Stomu Takeishi and Kenny Wolleson — Richards tapped acclaimed multimedia artist Sean Raspet to create singular, abstract scents to both inform and accompany the recording.


1. Underbelly (3:35)
2. Supersense (7:39)
3. Canopy (3:42)
4. Glass (4:57)
5. Metal Mouth (2:58)
6. Bunker (3:10)
7. Matter Is Water (3:36)
8. Sleeping in the Sky (3:21)
9. The Gentlest Insect (6:31)