Artist: Stan Getz & Luiz Bonfa
Title: Jazz Samba Encore!
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1963
Duration: 00:43:41
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
Label: Verve Records

When Stan Getz and Luiz Bonfa surprised the Americans with their first samba recording they did not imagine that this was to be their biggest success together. With such titles such as “Desafinado” and “One Note Samba”, Brazilian pop music stormed the borders. So popular was the music that voices cried for more — and the VERVE producers satisfied the fans with Jazz Samba Encore. The music contained in this album delved somewhat deeper into the heart of Brazilian melodies. Bonfa and Jobim, the composers and famous guitarists, picked up their instruments and both they and their soloists, — Maria Toledo in particular proves herself a maestra of her country’s music -, proceeded to delight their fans with their seemingly effortless music-making. Although he was not Brazilian and only later became a samba expert, Stan Getz fits amazingly well into this ensemble. His full tenor voice even in the upper regions and his rippling legato are wholly characteristic of his art. A delightful sound and natural rhythm — above all, rhythm! — make this record a “must” for every party.

Here’s some more bossa nova from Stan Getz when the bloom was still on the first Brazilian boom. This time, however, on his third such album, Getz relies mostly upon native Brazilians for his backing. Thus, the soft-focused grooves are considerably more attuned to what was actually coming out of Brazil at the time. Two bona fide giants, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Luiz Bonf (who gets co-billing), provide the guitars and all of the material, and Maria Toledo contributes an occasional throaty vocal. Getz injects more high-wailing passages into his intuitive affinity for the groove, even going for some fast bop on “Un Abraco No Getz,” and Bonf takes adept care of the guitar solos against Jobim’s rock-steady rhythm. Clearly Jobim’s songwriting contributions — “So Danco Samba,” “How Insensitive,” and “O Morro Nao Tem Vez” — would have the longest shelf life, and though the album didn’t sell as well as its two predecessors, it certainly helped break these tunes into the permanent jazz repertoire. Avid bossa nova fans will certainly treasure this album for the lesser-known Bonf tunes.


  1. Sambalero – 2:09
  2. Só Danço Samba – 3:38
  3. Insensatez – 3:23
  4. O Morro Nao Tem Vez – 6:54
  5. Samba De Duas Notas (Two Note Samba) – 4:21
  6. Menina Flor – 4:10
  7. Mania De Maria – 2:44
  8. Saudade Vem Correndo – 3:39
  9. Um Abraco No Getz (A Tribute To Getz) – 4:24
  10. Ebony Samba – Second Version – 4:35
  11. Ebony Samba – First Version – 3:50