Artist: Sonny Landreth
Title: Recorded Live in Lafayette
Genre: Blues
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 01:31:24
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Label: Provogue

Sonny Landreth’s unique spin on guitar playing has made him legendary. He combines the slide with fretted notes; this finger picking technique helps him create a complex, multi-layered sound onstage. Along the way Landreth has continued to develop his vision and his musical voice, growing increasingly original and diverse, expanding from blues, zydeco, folk, country and jazz into increasingly category- blurring musical excursions. The album Recorded Live in Lafayette is a perfect showcase of Landreth’s talents and skills; disc one contains a full acoustic set and disc two his full electric set.

Whenever an artist plays a hometown show, there’s a little more juice in the air. Sonny Landreth’s Recorded Live in Lafayette was tracked at the Acadiana Center for the Arts, not far from the bars and clubs where the pioneering slide guitarist cut his teeth, and you can feel the crowd’s energy reflected in the music. Recorded over the course of three nights, the double live album features Landreth’s working trio of bassist David Ranson and drummer Brian Brignac, as well as keyboardist Steve Conn and guitarist Sam Broussard.

For most of the acoustic set, Landreth played the striking guitar that appears on the album cover. “It’s a Larry Pogreba ‘hubcap’ resonator,” he explains. The guitar was a gift from Mark Knopfler, who played a similar model on “Creole Angel” from Landreth’s South of I-10 album. “For these songs, it appealed to me because it was bright and had some air to the sound, and it compressed in a way I really like.”

Landreth has been releasing albums for more than 30 years, so he has a huge body of material to cull from. Recorded Live in Lafayette offers a definitive overview of both his amazing slide guitar and his inspired songwriting. Here—in his own words—are the stories behind the songs on this epic double album.


  1. Blues Attack – 5:21
  2. Hell At Home – 6:00
  3. Key To The Highway – 6:47
  4. Creole Angel – 5:37
  5. A World Away – 7:34
  6. The High Side – 5:25
  7. Bound By The Blues – 4:18
  8. The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile – 6:18
  9. Back To Bayou Teche – 7:22
  10. True Blue – 5:49
  11. The Milky Way Home – 4:28
  12. Brave New Girl – 5:24
  13. Überesso – 3:11
  14. Soul Salvation – 4:32
  15. Walkin’ Blues – 6:10
  16. The One And Only Truth – 7:15