Artist: Songhoy Blues
Title: Resistance
Genre: Blues
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 00:44:59
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Label: Transgressive

A curveball thrown by this most-electric African neo-blues outfit who owe as much to John Lee Hooker, Jimi Hendrix and Ali Farka Tour as they do to Bombino or Tinariwen! Introduced to the public by Damon Albarn thanks to his project Africa Express, Songhoy Blues is one of the most interesting Malian acts around today. You can tell that these four young musicians are well-marinated in a diverse range of influences and their Music In Exile which came out in 2015 was the perfect statement of their pleasing stylistic gluttony. With Rsistence, we get another chance to be blindsided and swept away by this powerful trance and its electric and guitar supports, which swerves from furious and inspired pieces to quasi-shamanistic ballads. Politically-committed music (as the title suggests) for which the crew from Bamako brought in one Iggy Pop (Sahara) but also London rapper Elf Kid (Mali Nord).


  1. Voter – 3:20
  2. Bamako – 3:40
  3. Sahara (feat. Iggy Pop) – 3:04
  4. Yersi Yadda – 3:51
  5. Hometown – 5:00
  6. Badji – 4:02
  7. Dabari – 3:08
  8. Ici Bas – 3:48
  9. Ir Ma Sobay – 3:16
  10. Mali Nord (feat. Elf Kid) – 3:59
  11. Alhakou – 3:56
  12. One Colour – 4:02