Sin Fang – The Last Shall Be First (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 26:06 minutes | 289 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © INNI

The solo project of singer/songwriter and Seabear founder Sindri Már Sigfússon, Sin Fang explores the crossroads of intimate indie rock, ’60s pop, Icelandic folk, and indie electronica. After releasing debut album Clangour as Sin Fang Bous in 2009, Sigfússon shorted the project’s name to Sin Fang. He favored a glitchy electronic palette on fourth album Spaceland (2016) before collaborating with Sóley and Múm’s Örvar Smárason on the soft-spoken, electro-acoustic Team Dreams in 2017. Hailing from Reykjavik, Sigfússon started Seabear as a solo effort before it morphed into a seven-piece for the 2007 project debut Ghost That Carried Us Away. The follow-up, We Built a Fire, arrived in 2010. Striking back out on his own, Sin Fang – originally Sin Fang Bous – found Sigfússon delving into similarly minded territory with music that combined elements of indie pop, rock, folk and electronic styles. Sin Fang Bous released its debut album, Clangour, on Morr Music in 2009. In 2011, Sigfússon dropped the “Bous” for his sophomore effort, Summer Echoes. Flowers, which arrived in early 2013, offered a more anthemic take on the project’s sound. Keeping a relatively intimate tone but leaving behind any remaining folk elements for electronics, Spaceland was released by Morr Music in 2016. Guests on the album included fellow Nordic solo artists Jónsi, Sóley, and Farao. Sin Fang and Sóley teamed up again, this time with Örvar Smárason, for 2017’s Team Dreams, a balanced collaboration credited to all three of them. With guests including Summer Echoes rhythm section Arnljótur Sigurdsson (bass) and Magnús Trygvason Eliassen (drums), 2019’s Sad Party opted for dreamy synth pop. – Matt Collar


01. Sin Fang – Good Heart
02. Sin Fang – Lost Girls
03. Sin Fang – Dripdrop
04. Sin Fang – Dark Matter
05. Sin Fang – Wasteman
06. Sin Fang – Stranger
07. Sin Fang – Maybe Never
08. Sin Fang – Hollow Piano