Shawn Maxwell – Millstream (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:08 minutes | 890 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jazzline

A spirited free-thinker and committed non-conformist, saxophonist-composer Shawn Maxwell is clearly courting another kind of muse. “Jackie McLean and Cannonball Adderley are two of my heroes, and I guess you probably wouldn’t even think of it listening to me play. But I’ve transcribed them and been influenced hugely by them. I love Cannonball. But I’m not gonna be Cannonball.”

By relying heavily on the sound of Fender Rhodes electric piano and his own penchant for mixing memorable melodies with angularity and odd meters, Maxwell has come up with something different indeed on ‘Millstream’, his ninth album as a leader. With that signature ’70s sound of Rhodes underscoring the proceedings, Maxwell and his Chicago cohorts (keyboardist Collin Clauson, bassist Jeremiah Hunt and drummer Phil Beale) deal in long forms that avoid tired head-solo-solo-head conventions.

The liner notes are by Bill Milkowski – a regular contributor to Downbeat, Absolute Sound and Jazziz magazines. He is also the author of ‘JACO: The Extraordinary and Tragic Life of Jaco Pastorius’ and an upcoming biography on the late tenor sax great, Michael Brecker.


1. Shawn Maxwell – Ravage Eject
2. Shawn Maxwell – Squared Circle
3. Shawn Maxwell – Welcome Anxiety
4. Shawn Maxwell – Elbow of Phyliss
5. Shawn Maxwell – We Salt Everything
6. Shawn Maxwell – Sold Separately
7. Shawn Maxwell – Napping in the Sunshine
8. Shawn Maxwell – Front Walk Over
9. Shawn Maxwell – Tail Wins
10. Shawn Maxwell – No One Bossa
11. Shawn Maxwell – Agent Orange