Salami Rose Joe Louis – Chapters of Zdenka (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:43 minutes | 474 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Brainfeeder

‘Chapters of Zdenka’ is a collection of songs that I wrote around the same time I was working on my most recent album ‘Zdenka 2080’. The first half of the record contains songs that I wrote as a form of therapy, so many of them are like diary entries. They talk about the fear of losing one’s mind and the confusion of having an overactive imagination. Also, the sadness surrounding the conditioning that many females experience and the desire to unlearn this conditioning.

One of the main points of ‘Zdenka 2080’, was to express that an artist has a responsibility to create positive imagery to influence the world in a positive way. Zdenka, the artist figure, was very trapped in her own head and thoughts and thus, couldn’t step outside of herself to see how her actions and art negatively affected her surroundings and the earthlings around her. I guess in a sense you could say this album is the egocentric, depressed, self-sabotaging side of an artist… trapped in their negative thoughts, self-pity, fantasies and loneliness.

So you may ask, why release such a thing into the world?… Well, I guess there are a couple of reasons. Firstly, I think everyone has multiple sides and in this perfection oriented society (perfect image, perfect social presence) I realized it is important to be truthful with the vulnerability that comes with trying to figure yourself out. This is a heavy world we live in and if this album’s expression of vulnerability can provide even just one person a little bit of comfort, I will be happy to have put it out. Secondly, I love listening to sad music, so hopefully, some people will enjoy these melancholy tracks.

1. We’re Dumb (02:36)
2. Do You Care? (04:20)
3. Fantasy (02:20)
4. Permanently Shattered (03:21)
5. Fuck “Eager to Please” (01:39)
6. Pity Yourself (00:32)
7. Don’t Do Anything Stupid (02:07)
8. I Need You (02:20)
9. I Stay in Bed These Days Too Much (01:56)
10. Triumphant Buttress – (01:20)
11. Stranger by the Day (02:24)
12. A Thermogenic Interlude – (01:38)
13. Cosmic Love (03:05)
14. Wonders (01:09)
15. Zeeanori’s Childhood (00:47)
16. Soup for Zee (02:31)
17. Cuddles (01:43)
18. When You Smile (02:14)
19. Peculiar Machine (Georgia Anne Muldrow Remix) (03:03)
20. Kinda Cold (Dakim Remix) (02:35)
21. Cosmic Dawn (Dakim Remix) (02:13)