Artist: Rhoda Scott Lady Quartet
Title: We Free Queens
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 00:42:46
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/48kHz
Label: Sunset Records

The legendary organ master RHODA SCOTT presents eight groovy jazz compositions together with the LADY QUARTET on their album We Free Queens. The African-American soul-jazz organist, also known as The Barefoot Lady, is considered a legend on the Hammond organ and tears with her groovy-soulful sound on We Free Queens to swing. Appears as a CD on SODELORE. Known as The Barefoot Lady, the American organist and jazz singer RHODA SCOTT was born on July 4, 1938 in Dorothy, New Jersey. At seven, she played organ in her father’s church, but always barefoot so as not to damage the wooden crank. This habit has remained until today and made her The Barefoot Lady. After studying classical piano and earning her masters degree at the Manhattan School of Music, she continued to focus on organ playing developing an outstanding talent for classical music as well as jazz, gospel and blues. Her classical education brought her to France in the 1960s to NADIA BOULANGER. SCOTT played in her career with legends such as RAY CHARLES, GEORGE BENSON, COUNT BASIE and ELLA FITZGERALD. Her current album is a harmonious symbiosis of four great musicians who know how to combine jazz, soul, blues and gospel perfectly. The mood and atmosphere on the album is marked by a wonderfully cheerful spirituality right up to the end.


  1. We Free Queens (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Anne Paceo) – 5:42
  2. I Wanna Move (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Anne Paceo) – 4:22
  3. Que reste-t-il de nos amours? – 5:03
  4. One by One (feat. Julien Alour) – 5:04
  5. Rhoda’s Delight (feat. Géraldine Laurent) – 4:27
  6. Valse à Charlotte – 5:45
  7. Joke (feat. Anne Paceo) – 7:29
  8. What I’d Say (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Julien Alour) – 4:56