Porcupine Tree – The Incident (2009/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:15:49 minutes | 890 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kscope

The Incident is the tenth album by Porcupine Tree. It was released on 14 September 2009 by Roadrunner Records.

The concept of The Incident emerged as Steven Wilson was caught in a motorway traffic jam whilst driving past a road accident:

“There was a sign saying ‘POLICE – INCIDENT’ and everyone was slowing down to see what had happened… Afterwards, it struck me that ‘incident’ is a very detached word for something so destructive and traumatic for the people involved. And then I had the sensation that the spirit of someone that had died in the accident entered into my car and was sitting next to me. The irony of such a cold expression for such seismic events appealed to me, and I began to pick out other ‘incidents’ reported in the media and news, I wrote about the evacuation of teenage girls from a religious cult in Texas, a family terrorizing its neighbours, a body found floating in a river by some people on a fishing trip, and more. Each song is written in the first person and tries to humanize the detached media reportage.”

“Over the years, trying to determine what is true “prog rock” and what is not has become an increasingly tricky proposition. In the early ’70s, it was easy – any band that performed “suites” that extended across entire album sides and dressed in capes and/or cloaks was a dead giveaway. However, when the early ’80s rolled around, most former prog rockers trimmed out the fat from their compositions (and exchanged their medieval wear and kimonos for what looked like sports coats). Ever since, there have been bands that have aligned themselves to either of the aforementioned prog rock approaches. But along came Porcupine Tree, who somehow have found a way to incorporate both into their 2009 effort, The Incident. Set up similarly to Rush’s 1978 classic, Hemispheres, The Incident is comprised of a single long song – the title track – that features many different movements (which would have taken up the entire side one back in the good ol’ days of vinyl), as well as a handful of shorter compositions that close the album. The aforementioned title track will certainly be the talk of the album, as it manages to incorporate bombast and melody (the sixth movement, which shares the album’s title), rock (“Octane Twisted”), Yes’ folky moments (“The Seance”), and Tool-like grooves (“Circle of Manias”), before it all gently floats away on a cloud of fairy dust (“I Drive the Hearse”). That said, unlike early proggers who favored meandering instrumental doodling over succinct songwriting, Porcupine Tree always favor the importance of memorable songs over flashy solos, which certainly makes the group one of the top modern-day prog rock bands.” (Greg Prato, AMG)


1. Porcupine Tree – Occam’s Razor
2. Porcupine Tree – The Blind House
3. Porcupine Tree – Great Expectations
4. Porcupine Tree – Kneel and Disconnect
5. Porcupine Tree – Drawing the Line
6. Porcupine Tree – The Incident
7. Porcupine Tree – Your Unpleasant Family
8. Porcupine Tree – The Yellow Windows of the Evening Train
9. Porcupine Tree – Time Flies
10. Porcupine Tree – Degree Zero of Liberty
11. Porcupine Tree – Octane Twisted
12. Porcupine Tree – The Seance
13. Porcupine Tree – Circle of Manias
14. Porcupine Tree – I Drive the Hearse
15. Porcupine Tree – Flicker
16. Porcupine Tree – Bonnie the Cat
17. Porcupine Tree – Black Dahlia
18. Porcupine Tree – Remember Me Lover