Oscar Peterson – Plays The Harold Arlen Song Book (1959/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 29:59 minutes | 1,36 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Verve Music

This 1959 release from Oscar Peterson is one of several albums he recorded in the 1950s dedicated to specific composers. On this collection Peterson revisits several of the Harold Arlen songs he included on a previous album years earlier, in a trio configuration here backed by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen.

The album demonstrate Peterson’s complete mastery of the works of Harold Arlen. Oscar is such a monster piano player that he does not need anyone to ‘comp’ while he is soloing, he does that as well … will be very welcome by all the Peterson fans and let us hope that anyone not familiar with his past work will take the opportunity to catch up.

01 – Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
02 – Stormy Weather
03 – Over The Rainbow
04 – The Man That Got Away
05 – Ill Wind
06 – Let’s Fall In Love
07 – As Long As I Live
08 – Come Rain Or Come Shine
09 – Ac-cent-tchu-ate The Positive
10 – Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
11 – I’ve Got The World On A String
12 – That Old Black Magic

Mastering Engineer: Kevin Reeves (4th Floor Studios).

Oscar Peterson – piano
Ray Brown – double bass
Ed Thigpen – drums