Ophélie Gaillard – Exiles – Bloch & Korngold (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:08:27 minutes | 1,07 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Aparté

Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries, the United States, land of freedom, open to the world, a democracy concerned with human rights, attracted emigrants of all origins. Rightly or wrongly, the young nation, in full economic expansion, embodied a land of redemption for the composers brought together by Ophélie Gaillard. After Alvorada, her globe-trotting cello leads us in the footsteps of Bloch, Korngold, Prokofiev, Chava Alberstein and Giora Feidmann, singing their exile, whether suffered or deliberately chosen. She makes us vibrate to the sound of a film score (Korngold’s Concerto), a prayer (From Jewish Life), an Hebraic narrative (Schelomo), a lullaby, a wedding dance… The spirit of celebration, tenderness, religious meditation: so many facets of daily life and the culture of several generations of Jewish immigrants, related by Ophélie Gaillard’s humanistic bow.


Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)
1 Schelomo, Hebraic Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra 21:35

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
2 Concerto in One Movement for Cello and Orchestra in C, Op. 37 12:29
3 Die tote Stadt, Op. 12, Act II: Tanzlied des Pierrot 04:14

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
4 Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34 08:33

Ernest Bloch
5 From Jewish Life: I. Prayer 03:51
6 From Jewish Life: II. Supplication 02:45
7 From Jewish Life: III. Jewish Song 02:14

8 Wedding Dance 02:17

Jean Albertsein (1874-1928)
9 Sarah Sings a Lullaby to Little Isaac 03:40

10 Freilechs, Sim Shalom, Azoy Tantzmen in Odessa 06:47

Ophélie Gaillard, cello
Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo
James Judd, conductor