Ola Gjeilo – Winter Songs (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:35 minutes | 978 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Decca

A beautiful new album of compositions and arrangements for choir and strings by Norwegian composer, Ola Gjeilo.

Including new arrangements of familiar Christmas carols in a beautiful and intimate setting to emulate the feeling of “Hygge”.

Ola Gjeilo (pronounced Yay-lo) is one of the most frequently performed composers in the choral world.
An accomplished pianist, improvisations over his own published choral pieces have become a trademark of his collaborations across the world.

Although Norwegian by birth, it is perhaps Ola’s adopted country of America that has influenced the composer’s distinctive sound world the most, evolving a style that is both contemporary and familiar; thick harmonies and rich textures recall film score – music that forms a major part of the composer’s inspiration.

01. Gjeilo: The Rose 03:25
02. Gjeilo: Ecce Novum 04:14
03. Anonymous: The First Nowell 04:35
04. Gjeilo: Days Of Beauty 02:45
05. Gjeilo: Home 02:30
06. Gjeilo: Across The Vast, Eternal Sky 04:38
07. Gjeilo: Ave Generosa 04:32
08. Gjeilo: First Snow 02:27
09. Anonymous: The Holly & The Ivy 03:58
10. Kirkpatrick: Away In A Manger 03:57
11. Gjeilo: Dawn 02:46
12. Anonymous: The Coventry Carol 03:30
13. Gruber: Silent Night 03:46
14. Anonymous: Wintertide 03:10
15. Gjeilo: The Rose II 03:26

Ola Gjeilo, piano
The Choir of the Royal Holloway
12 Ensemble
Rupert Gough, conductor