Odhecaton & Paolo da Col – Scarlatti: Missa Defunctorum, Salve Regina, Miserere & Magnificat (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:16:23 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © Arcana

This recording is a discovery of Alessandro Scarlatti’s heretofore unknown sacred music, where Renaissance tradition meets Baroque sensibility for a unique and compelling recording. At the core of Odhecaton’s latest offering is the Missa defunctorum for four voices and basso continuo. It is in this magnificent score – recorded for the first time using the critical edition of Luca Della Libera – that primarily contrapuntal writing gives way to Scarlatti’s stylistic choices of great expressivity and rhetorical force, such as in the case of the astonishing Lacrimosa. The Miserere is also recorded for the first time. Written for nine voices for the Sistine Chapel, the score follows Allegri’s model only outwardly; Scarlatti, in fact, moves steadily away from it through his harmonic originality, formal richness, and expressivity. The Magnificat displays a unique synthesis of the Palestrinian model and the expressive language of the eighteenth century. In this score, Scarlatti exploits the great wealth and variety of the Marian text, particularly in the relationship between words and the emotional and descriptive spheres.


Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
Missa defunctorum a 4 voci e basso continuo (circa 1717)
1 Introitus 05:01
2 Kyrie 01:36
3 Graduale 03:43
4 Sequentia (Dies irae) 05:36
5 Sequentia (Lacrimosa) 03:34
6 Offertorium 06:18
7 Sanctus 03:30
8 Agnus Dei 03:06
9 Communio 03:13
Salve Regina a 4 voci con violini e basso continuo (circa 1697)
10 Salve Regina 09:17
Miserere mei, Deus a 9 voci in doppio coro (1708)
Magnificat a 5 voci e basso continuo (ante 1715)
12 Magnificat 02:41
13 Quia respexit 01:25
14 Quia fecit 02:13
15 Fecit potentiam 01:40
16 Deposuit potentes 02:02
17 Esurientes implevit bonis 05:35
18 Sicut locutus est 00:48
19 Gloria patri 05:27

Paolo Da Col, direction