Nora Jean Wallace – Blueswoman (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:15 minutes | 851 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Severn Records

Nora Jean Wallace has a voice that was made to sing the blues, a voice that will knock you off your feet and demand your attention and thank goodness for that. After taking a break from singing to care for her mother, she returns full force with an album, Nora Jean Wallace “BluesWoman”

Nora Jean Wallace (formally Bruso) returns after 16 years since her 2004 BMA-nominated and critically-acclaimed release, Going Back to Mississippi. Blueswoman shows why Nora was born to sing the blues. A staple of the Chicago Blues scene, Nora Jean pours her heart into eight originals including the Koko Taylor inspired title track, “I’m a Blues Woman,” and “Rag and Bucket” written with co-writer, Stanley Banks. The Syl Johnson classic, “I Can’t Stop,” and George Jackson’s “Evidence” are great canvases for Nora’s powerful gift. No wonder The Chicago Sun-Times called her performance at the Chicago Blues Festival “show-stopping,” and the legendary Koko Taylor is quoted as saying, “Nora Jean sounds just like I did when I was her age!” This is a must for all fans of real-deal blues.

During a very low period in my career, a friend reminded me that the Bible says your gifts will make room for you. When I gave serious thought to that which I already knew, I never looked back. Slowly but surely my gifts indeed have made, and continue to make, room for me and this project is living proof of that.

I left the blues scene to take care of my mom who was sick at the time (she has since passed). From the cotton fields of Mississippi to the bright and steamy windows of Chicago blues, she always supported me. I think a part of her felt guilty because I had to leave what I loved doing the most to take care of her. And although she’s gone, she’s still with me. I thank God for all she instilled me. She always told me to put God first, never quit and everything else will fall in place.

Here I am in 2020 embarking on a renewed career in blues. The gifts that have made room for me have come in the form of creative people who’ve helped me pave a new path in the blues. I believe God had a hand in it all and has placed people in my life to make me better, stronger and more determined to do what I love best…sing the blues. – Nora Jean Wallace

Seems like this day would never come, but through it all Severn Records has been steadfast in making sure this project would be a success. With their support, I’ve been able to once again share my voice with fans and the blues community that I’ve grown to love. Big, big shout out to Stanley Banks who put pen to paper to write some incredible songs for this project as well as share his talent. – Nora Jean Wallace


1. Nora Jean Wallace – Martell
2. Nora Jean Wallace – I Can’t Stop
3. Nora Jean Wallace – I’m a Blues Woman
4. Nora Jean Wallace – Evidence
5. Nora Jean Wallace – Victim
6. Nora Jean Wallace – Rag and Bucket
7. Nora Jean Wallace – Look over Yonder
8. Nora Jean Wallace – I’ve Been Watching You
9. Nora Jean Wallace – Dance with Me
10. Nora Jean Wallace – I Don’t Have to Beg You to Love Me