Artist: Nat King Cole
Title: The Very Thought of You
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1958
Quality: High-Fidelity DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz
Label: Analogue Productions

“…if you haven’t picked up every one of the Blue Note and Nat King Cole reissues from Chad Kassem and company at Acoustic Sounds, you’re really missing out!” – David W. Robinson, Positive Feedback, Issue 52

“…exquisite standards, Gordon Jenkins and his orchestra, and that achingly beautiful Capitol sound…this disc’s multiple layers offer mono, stereo and three-channel.” Sound Quality = 92% out of 100% – Ken Kessler, HiFi News, January 2011

“…Thanks to the gorgeous remastering and improved quality afforded by the format, you’ll hear every breath, as if you were in the studio alongside Cole himself during a recording session.” – The Second Disc, December 2010

Nat King Cole possessed one of the most accessible and appealing voices of any singer in the 1950s. This ballad-oriented set puts the emphasis completely on his voice (there is no piano playing or any hint of his jazz-oriented past) and features Cole accompanied by Gordon Jenkins’ sweet arrangements for a string orchestra. Many other singers might find it difficult to overcome, much less uplift this type of accompaniment, but Cole’s basic and honest delivery works quite well in this setting. Highlights include “The Very Thought of You,” “But Beautiful,” “This Is All I Ask,” “For All We Know,” and “The More I See You.” ~~ AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


01 – The Very Thought Of You (stereo)
02 – But Beautiful (stereo)
03 – Impossible (stereo)
04 – I Wish I Knew The Way To Your Heart (stereo)
05 – I Found A Million Dollar Baby (In A Five And Ten Cent Store) (stereo)
06 – Magnificent Obsession (stereo)
07 – My Heart Tells Me (stereo)
08 – Paradise (stereo)
09 – This Is All I Ask (stereo)
10 – Cherie, I Love You (stereo)
11 – Making Believe You’re Here (stereo)
12 – Cherchez La Femme (stereo)
13 – For All We Know (stereo)
14 – The More I See You (stereo)
15 – Don’t Blame Me (stereo)
16 – There Is No Greater Love (stereo)
17 – The Very Thought Of You (mono)
18 – But Beautiful (mono)
19 – Impossible (mono)
20 – I Wish I Knew The Way To Your Heart (mono)
21 – I Found A Million Dollar Baby (In A Five And Ten Cent Store) (mono)
22 – Magnificent Obsession (mono)
23 – My Heart Tells Me (mono)
24 – Paradise (mono)
25 – This Is All I Ask (mono)
26 – Cherie, I Love You (mono)
27 – Making Believe You’re Here (mono)
28 – Cherchez La Femme (mono)
29 – For All We Know (mono)
30 – The More I See You (mono)
31 – Don’t Blame Me (mono)
32 – There Is No Greater Love (mono)