Artist: Max Cencic, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou
Title: Rokoko: Hasse Opera Arias
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2014
Duration: 01:04:17
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Decca Records

Rokoko, Max Emanuel Cencic’s latest solo recording, is an homage to Johann Adolf Hasse. In recent years Cencic has become recognized as one of the world’s supreme countertenors. Here he is joined by conductor George Petrou and the Armonia Atenea to perform these beautiful arias of the Rococo period. The album features seven never before recorded arias composed by Johann Adolf Hasse.

Launching his new recording contract with Decca Classics, critically-acclaimed countertenor Max Emanuel Cencic performs arias from the finest of Hasse’s dramatic works. From the exquisite delicacy of the aria di sostenuto to the fiery passion of the aria di bravura, Cencic’s sensational performance brings Hasse’s greatest works to a new audience, brilliantly fresh and with maximum effect.

Rokoko follows on from Cencic’s incredibly well received Alessandro on Decca Classics. Critics from the world’s leading press recognised the album’s outstanding qualities: Gramophone described it as “an essential purchase”; Opera News observed that Cencic “commands the music totally”, while Diapason awarded it Diapason de l’or de l’anne and it also won recognition in the International Opera Awards in London

For this new recording Cencic is accompanied by the superb Armonia Atenea under their internationally-renowned conductor George Petrou.


  1. Il Cantico de’ Tre Fanciulli – "Notte amica" – 9:45
  2. Arminio – "Cadro ma qual si mira" – 5:44
  3. Il Siroe – "La sorte mia tiranna" – 6:22
  4. Tito Vespasiano – "Opprimete i contumaci" – 4:13
  5. L’Olimpiade – "Siam navi all’onde" – 3:06
  6. Impermestra – "Ma rendi pur contento" – 7:51
  7. Mandolin Concerto in G – 1. Allegro – 2:21
  8. Mandolin Concerto in G – 2. Largo – 3:32
  9. Mandolin Concerto in G – 3. Allegro – 2:17
  10. Il Trionfi di Clelia – "De’ folgori di giove" – 4:21
  11. La Spartana Generosa – "Se un tenero affetto" – 2:55
  12. Il Trionfi di Clelia – "Dei di Roma" – 4:15
  13. Tigrane – "Solca il mar" – 4:11
  14. Tito Vespasiano – "Vo disperato a morte" – 3:31