Artist: Mastodon
Title: Remission
Genre: Metal
Release Date: 2002
Duration: 00:50:24
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Reprise

On the heels of the release of Mastodon’s latest album, Once More ‘Round the Sun, comes word that their debut album will be reissued. The deluxe version of Remission will be released Aug. 5 via Relapse Records (watch preview trailer above).

Mastodon exploded onto the scene in 2002 with their debut LP Remission, a record that would immediately establish them as one of the most important bands in the history of heavy music. Combining an unparalleled level of musicianship together with songwriting sophistication that simply did not exist amongst their peers, were it to be initially released today Remission would still be nothing short of mindblowing. Over a decade after its release Remission remains one of the most important titles in Relapse’s rich catalog, and it is with that appreciation that the label is proud to present a super-deluxe version of this classic record put together with the cooperation of the band themselves. The album has been fully remixed by original producer and engineer Matt Bayles and remastered by Ed Brooks at RFI.

The Atlanta-based foursome play a very aggressive stoner rock hybrid that at times reminds of the non-death metal excursions by Entombed, but with a complex slant that nears prog rock proportions. The jazzy drumming and clean guitar that go on for most of “Ol’e Nessie” is a Southern-sounding sprawl that could be the Allmans if the brothers bludgeoned with the “Whipping Post” instead of just tying folks up to it. Even though their homeland’s influence is more subtle the rest of the way, it’s still there if you look beneath the Sab-Stooge-Motrhead Gristle, and that, along with the technical ecstasy, helps make Mastodon stand out amongst a ton of other post-Man’s Ruin Stonehenge rockers.


  1. Crusher Destroyer – 2:02
  2. March of the Fire Ants – 4:26
  3. Where Strides the Behemoth – 2:57
  4. Workhorse – 3:45
  5. Ol’e Nessie – 6:06
  6. Burning Man – 2:47
  7. Trainwreck – 7:06
  8. Trampled Under Hoof – 3:01
  9. Trilobite – 6:31
  10. Mother Puncher – 3:51
  11. Elephant Man – 7:59