Artist: London Symphony Orchestra, Sir Colin Davis
Title: Weber: Der Freischutz
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2013
Duration: 02:02:35
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: LSO Live

Sir Colin Davis conducts the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus and a stellar cast of soloists in a concert performance of Weber’s eerily fantastical opera, ‘Der Freischtz’. ‘Der Freischtz’ is heralded as one of the cornerstones of Romantic opera, drawing on traditional German folk tunes and elements of Romanticism for the first time in the history of opera. The evocative and colourful orchestration is particularly impressive in the ”Wolf’s Glen’ scene: often considered the most gruesomely expressive rendering of evil to be found in a musical score!

All three soloists are well established on LSO Live: Opera News declared the Verdi Requiem (LSO00683), featuring Christine Brewer, as “one of the finest recordings the work has ever received”. Sally Matthews, who has performed regularly with Sir Colin Davis, was praised in her role in Haydn’s ‘Creation’ (LSO0628). Simon O’Neill’s previous appearance on the label, in the title role of Verdi’s ‘Otello’ (LSO0700) saw much critical acclaim, and confirmation that “he is the best heroic tenor to emerge over the last decade” The Telegraph.

***** ‘One of the marvels of his [Davis’] old age was the vitality he continued to bring to his music-making, combined with the wisdom of experience. Both are in evidence here, reinforcing Der Freischtz reputation as one of the most tuneful and psychologically profound operas in the repertoire.’ Financial Times (UK)

‘…this live concert performance of Weber’s Der Freischtz is a moving testament to the late Sir Colin Davis, as well as a thrilling performance in its own right, with top soloists: Christine Brewer in dramatic full throttle as Agathe, a pure-toned Sally Matthews (Annchen) and Simon O’Neill urgent and ardent as Max. Spoken dialogue is handled briskly… Davis, as ever, balances unrushed tempi with moments of raw excitement and aural extravagance, of which there are many in this early Romantic opera.’ The Observer (UK)

‘It is perhaps it cause for sadness that this Weber set has turned out to be the final opera recording of one of Britain’s greatest conductors, but it is equally a celebration of the late musician’s skills that this valedictory recording is given such a strong and sinewy reading — a touch steady, perhaps, but the tempi here help accentuate the rigour of the reading. And it is particularly welcome to note that the spoken dialogue — always tedious on repeated listenings — has been excised.’ Classical CD Choice (UK)

**** ‘thoroughly useful recording’ The Times (UK)


  1. Der Freischütz: Overture – 10:38
  2. Der Freischütz, Act I: No. 1 Introduction: ‘Victoria, der Meister soll leben’ – 5:45
  3. Der Freischütz, Act I: No. 2 Terzett mit Chor: ‘O! diese Sonne!’ – 6:59
  4. Der Freischütz, Act I: No. 3 Scene, Walzer und Arie: ‘Nein! länger trag’ ich nicht die Qualen’ – 9:27
  5. Der Freischütz, Act I: No. 4 Lied: ‘Hier im ird’schen Jammerthal’ – 2:36
  6. Der Freischütz, Act I: No. 5 Arie: ‘Schweig’! Schweig’! damit dich niemand warnt’ – 3:44
  7. Der Freischütz, Act II: No. 6 Duett: ‘Schelm! halt fest!’ – 5:01
  8. Der Freischütz, Act II: No. 7 Ariette: ‘Kommt ein schlanker Bursch gegangen’ – 4:07
  9. Der Freischütz, Act II: No. 8 Scene und Arie: ‘Wie nahte mir der Schlummer’ – 8:56
  10. Der Freischütz, Act II: No. 9 Terzett: ‘Wie? Was? Entsetzen!’ – 7:06
  11. Der Freischütz, Act II: No. 10 Finale – Die Wolfsschlucht: ‘Milch des Mondes fiel aufs Kraut’ – 18:08
  12. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 11 Entre-Acte – 2:04
  13. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 12 Cavatine: ‘Und ob die Wolke sie verhülle’ – 5:30
  14. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 13 Romanze und Arie: ‘Einst träumte meiner sel’gen Base’ – 6:51
  15. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 14 Volkslied: ‘Wir winden dir den Jungfernkranz’ – 4:11
  16. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 15 Jägerchor: ‘Was gleicht wohl auf Erden dem Jägervergnügen’ – 2:52
  17. Der Freischütz, Act III: No. 16 Finale: ‘Schaut, o schaut, er traf die eig’ne Braut!’ – 18:47