Artist: Lee Morgan
Title: Search For The New Land
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1966
Duration: 00:42:22
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
Label: Blue Note Records

The jazz album Search For the New Land features five original compositions by trumpeter Lee Morgan. With an all star musical lineup, the album acquired number 16 on Billboard’s Black Albums chart. Search For the New Land is recognized as one of Morgan’s best recordings.

This is one of the finest Lee Morgan records. The great trumpeter contributes five challenging compositions (“Search for the New Land,” “The Joker,” “Mr. Kenyatta,” “Melancholee,” and “Morgan the Pirate”) that deserve to be revived. Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, guitarist Grant Green, pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Reggie Workman, and drummer Billy Higgins are all in particularly creative form on the fresh material, and they stretch the boundaries of hard bop (the modern mainstream jazz of the period). The result is a consistently stimulating set that rewards repeated listenings.


  1. Search For The New Land – 15:47
  2. The Joker – 5:05
  3. Mr. Kenyatta – 8:45
  4. Melancholee – 6:16
  5. Morgan The Pirate – 6:32