Joe Turner – Smashing Thirds (1969/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 38:28 minutes | 703 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © MPS

Big Joe Turner was a blues shouter from Kansas City, Mo., who stood at 6-foot 2, weighed 300 pounds and was fundamental to the development of rock ‘n’ roll. He was the first to record “Shake, Rattle and Roll” in 1954. The “Big” was added to distinguish him from the already famous Joe Turner, a stride pianist who was born in 1907 in Baltimore. While touring there in the late 1960s, Turner was asked to record by Germany’s MPS Records. In November 1969, Turner recorded for the label in Berlin backed by bassist Hans Rettenbacher and drummer Stu Martin. All 13 tracks are laced with a stride-piano sound that conjures up images of the 1920s and ’30s. What makes Turner’s stride special is his ability to leave space for the listener to enter songs. Many stride masters from the era tended to flood the ear with seamless cascades of notes. Rosetta, Willow Weep for Me and Effervescent from “Smashing Thirds” are particularly lovely and show off Turner’s beautiful, floral technique.


01 – Rosetta
02 – Harry Numa
03 – St. Louis Blues
04 – Cloud 15
05 – Emmaline
06 – Willows Weep for Me
07 – Caravan
08 – Song of the Vagabonds
09 – Vipers Drag
10 – Love for Sale
11 – Effervescent
12 – Sweet Lorraine
13 – Smashing Thirds

Produced by Joachim E. Berendt. Engineered by H. Kujawa.
Recorded on November 7, 1969 at Sono-Press-Studio, Berlin.
Digitally Remastered.

Joe Turner – piano, vocals
Hans Rettenbacher – bass
Stu Martin – drums