Artist: Eugen Cicero
Title: In Town
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1965
Duration: 00:30:15
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/88,2kHz

The Romanian Eugen Cicero was a Wunderkind, performing his first piano concert with a symphony orchestra at the age of six. His first SABA/MPS album, Rokoko Jazz sold over a million copies. Cicero was acknowledged as an “all-around entertainer, someone who gives a damn about stylistic borders and takes whatever is useful, from Bach to Cole Porter”. The Cole Porter classic It’s De-Lovely shows the man can swing, and with tips of the hat to Errol Garner and George Shearing, knows his jazz piano. Cicero and the MPS “house rhythm section” of bassist Peter Witte and drummer Charly Antolini display an uncanny empathy throughout. Autumn Leaves sounds as if Schuman’s Kinderscenen might have been played out in Harlem. Und Bach? from Johann Sebastian’s Prelude in C Minor rates as “the most intensive and dynamic of the wave of modern Bach-to-jazz recordings (Joachim E. Berendt). Cicero and co garnish Hello Dolly with the appropriate Broadway treatment; his interpretation of pianist Randy Weston’s Little Niles owes as much to Chopin as to Afro-American jazz, while Por Favor is simply high entertainment. Amazing music by a pianist with the sensibilities of the great classical and jazz interpreters at his fingertips.

The effect of this event on Dvok may be sensed in the expressive G minor Piano Trio he wrote in January 1876, and shortly afterwards he may have decided to commemorate his loss with this setting of the Stabat Mater, his longest and most profound non-operatic work to date. He sketched it between 19 February and 7 May 1876, but left the orchestration until autumn of the following year, the interruption perhaps caused by continuing, devastating family tragedies: the death of another daughter, Rena, followed a few weeks later by the loss of the Dvok’s sole surviving child, their son Otakar. The orchestration was eventually completed on 13 November 1877, and the premiere took place at an anniversary concert of the Prague association of musical artists (Umleck beseda) on 23 December 1880, a curiously unseasonable date for such a quintessentially Passiontide composition. …


  1. It’s De-Lovely – 4:44
  2. Autumn Leaves – 6:22
  3. Und Bach? nach Preludium in C-moll von Joh. Seb. Bach – 4:01
  4. Hello Dolly – 6:05
  5. Little Niles – 5:31
  6. Por Favor – 3:36