Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Opera Arias and Overtures – Elizabeth Watts, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Christian Baldini (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 61:48 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: LINN | @ LINN Records
Recorded: June 2013 at Usher Hall, Edinburgh, Scotland

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra has established impeccable Mozartian credentials and its previous forays into operatic repertoire have been highly critically acclaimed. Conductor Christian Baldini makes his recording debut with the orchestra in this repertoire that is so close to his heart. They are joined for the arias by award-winning soprano Elizabeth Watts who uses her considerable Mozart experience to create highly memorable performances.

This 2015 audiophile release on Linn Records features soprano Elizabeth Watts in celebrated arias from the operas of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, along with overtures from the same operas, performed by Christian Baldini and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. For newcomers to Mozart, this program will be a delightful introduction, not only because the overtures will be recognizable in many cases, but the arias will give these listeners a generous sampling of the vocal styles found in each work. Aficionados of the operas will find this hybrid SACD appealing for the opportunity to hear Watts, who is better known for her recordings of Romantic lieder. Her bright and flexible voice is wonderful in Mozart, and the clarity of her diction makes her singing easy to follow, though the booklet provides the texts with translations. The orchestra plays modern instruments, though it often sounds like a period ensemble, due to the clean string playing and the distinctive tone colors of the woodwinds and brass. This disc invites repeated listening and is highly recommended. –Blair Sanderson, AllMusic

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Le nozze di Figaro K492
1 Act 1 No 1: Overture[4’12]
2 Act 4. Recitativo – Aria: Giunse alfin – Deh vieni non tardar[4’45]
Idomeneo K366
3 Act 1: Overture[4’32]
4 Act 1 Recitative and Aria: Quanti mi siete intorno – Padre, germani, addio![4’31]
Don Giovanni K527
5 Act 1 No 1: Overture[5’49]
6 Act 1, Aria: Batti, batti[4’06]
7 Act 2, Aria: Vedrai, carino[3’31]
La clemenza di Tito K621
8 Act 1: Overture[4’30]
9 Act 2, Aria: S’altro che lacrime[2’44]
La finta giardiniera K196
10 Act 1: Overture[4’40]
11 Act 1, Aria: Appena mi vedon[4’27]
Così fan tutte K588
12 Act 1: Overture[4’33]
13 Act 2 Recitative and Aria: Ei parte – Per pietà[9’28]

Elizabeth Watts, soprano
Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Christian Baldini, conductor