Artist: Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis, Shirley Scott, George Duvivier, Arthur Edgehill
Title: The Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis Cookbook, Vol. 1
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1958
Duration: 00:47:52
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Label: Prestige Records

Since the Swing Era, when Harlem was a real hotbed of jazz, there has been present a certain kind of music, a type of popular jazz compounded from the large swing bands, the “jump” bands, and the fly, little combos which formed the best of what later became known as rhythm and blues. The best of rhythm and blues, however, has always been within the mainstream of jazz and is a happy, swinging, bluesy kind of music which contains both humor and warmth. Eddie Davis’ group was among those who revolutioned the idea of unconventional jazz instrumental combos.

Jazz tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis’ album featuring organist Shirley Scott and flautist Jerome Richardson. The Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Cookbook was originally recorded in 1958 and later added on two subsequent volumes. Davis was known for developing the organ/tenor format, recording with Scott on numerous occasions and creating a unique musical blend between the two instruments.


  1. Have Horn, Will Blow – 5:16
  2. The Chef – 6:01
  3. But Beautiful – 7:43
  4. In The Kitchen – 12:52
  5. Three Deuces – 5:01
  6. But Beautiful (alternate take) – 7:30
  7. Avalon – 3:32