Artist: Don Ellis Orchestra
Title: Soaring
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1973
Duration: 00:42:41
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz

The last album by Don Ellis’ big band before the trumpeter suffered a heart attack that would ultimately cut short both his career and his life, this underrated set finds Ellis’ orchestra consisting of seven brass (including tuba), four strong woodwind players, a string quartet, and an enlarged six-piece rhythm section that includes guitarist Jay Graydon and keyboardist Milcho Leviev. A special highlight is “Invincible” which is an outstanding feature for altoist Vince Denham; whatever happened to him? Ellis composed four of the eight originals including one titled “The Devil Made Me Write This Piece!” This out-of-print Lp is well worth searching for.


  1. Whiplash – 4:30
  2. Sladka Pitka – 6:46
  3. The Devil Made Me Write This Piece – 5:59
  4. Go Back Home – 3:20
  5. Invincible – 6:47
  6. Image Of Maria – 3:06
  7. Sidonie – 6:45
  8. Nicole – 5:33