Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg (2008) [FLAC] Download

Artist: Dead Can Dance
Title: The Serpent’s Egg
Genre: Gothic
Release Date: 2008
Duration: 00:36:10
Quality: FLAC Stereo 16bit/44,1kHz
Size: 214.11 MB
Tracks: 10
Source: Dead_Can_Dance-The_Serpents_Egg-(CAD_2709_CD)-Reissue_Remastered-CD-FLAC-2008-SHGZ

The fourth Dead Can Dance album, THE SERPENT’S EGG, continues the band’s evolution away from tradition rock/pop song structures. The tracks are instead built on sustained chords, vocal harmonizing, and brittle-sounding string instruments. “Orbis de Ignis” is almost a cappella, the only music being a bell struck between verses, with the ethereal voice of Lisa Gerrard (and others) skittering over the surface. Along with the insistent tribal drumming of “Mother Tongue,” which eventually evolves into a wordless chant by Lisa Gerrard, the best tracks here are two featuring Brendan Perry’s vocals, “Severance” and “Ullyses.” The first opens on an ominous drone as the song’s narrative tells of a fading community (or civilization, even). The second features some of Perry’s most interesting work with the hurdy-gurdy, which is echoed by a string section. Also of note is the creepy vocal interplay in “Echolalia.” For fans of This Mortal Coil, “Song of Sophia” distinctly recalls that band’s “Song to the Siren.” This is maybe not the best Dead Can Dance record to begin with–it is certainly the group’s most insular–but for fans it is another fascinating trip to the dawn of Western music. –Muze


  1. Dead Can Dance – The Host Of Seraphim – 6:18
  2. Dead Can Dance – Orbis De Ignis – 1:35
  3. Dead Can Dance – Severance – 3:23
  4. Dead Can Dance – The Writing On My Father’s Hand – 3:50
  5. Dead Can Dance – In The Kingdom Of The Blind The One-eyed Are Kings – 4:12
  6. Dead Can Dance – Chant Of The Paladin – 3:49
  7. Dead Can Dance – Song Of Sophia – 1:25
  8. Dead Can Dance – Echolalia – 1:17
  9. Dead Can Dance – Mother Tongue – 5:17
  10. Dead Can Dance – Ullyses – 5:10

Download Links :