Artist: Coleman Hawkins
Title: Today and Now
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1962
Duration: 40:34
Quality: High-Fidelity DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Coleman Hawkins recorded three sessions for Impulse Records in the early to mid ’60s. Of the three, Today And Now is the most compelling. The unusual choice of repertoire is what sets this album apart. Versions of the traditional song “Go Li’s Liza” and the fairly obscure Quincy Jones ballad “Quintessence” are creatively rendered. Indeed, Hawk seems inspired throughout; he plays with an abandon that is altogether effortless.


01 – Go Li’l Liza
02 – Quintessence
03 – Don’t Love Me
04 – Love Song from ‘Apache’
05 – Put on Your Old Grey Bonnett
06 – Swinging Scotch
07 – Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else But Me)