Artist: Cheap Trick
Title: Heaven Tonight
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1978
Duration: 00:43:41
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Label: Epic/Legacy

Heaven Tonight is rock group Cheap Trick’s third studio album. Critics and fans agree the 1978 release is one of the band’s best albums, the main reason being that the group was able create a perfect mix of pop and rock. Heaven Tonight features singles “Surrender”, “High Roller” and “Heaven Tonight”.

Heaven Tonight, like In Color, was produced by Tom Werman, but the difference between the two records is substantial. Where In Color often sounded emasculated, Heaven Tonight regains the powerful, arena-ready punch of Cheap Trick, but crosses it with a clever radio-friendly production that relies both on synthesizers and studio effects. Even with the fairly slick production, Cheap Trick sound ferocious throughout the album, slamming heavy metal, power pop, and hard rock together in a humongous sound. “Surrender,” the definitive Cheap Trick song, opens the album with a tale about a kid whose parents are hipper than himself, and the remainder of the record is a roller coaster ride, peaking with the sneering “Auf Wiedersehen,” the dreamily psychedelic title track, the roaring rocker “On Top of the World,” the high-stepping, tongue-in-cheek “How Are You,” and the pulverizing cover of the Move’s “California Man.” Heaven Tonight is the culmination of the group’s dizzying early career, summing up the strengths of their first two albums, their live show, and their talent for inverting pop conventions. They were never quite as consistently thrilling on record ever again. ~~ AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


  1. Surrender – 4:16
  2. On Top of the World – 4:05
  3. California Man – 3:45
  4. High Roller – 3:58
  5. Auf Wiedersehen – 3:46
  6. Takin’ Me Back – 4:53
  7. On the Radio – 4:34
  8. Heaven Tonight – 5:25
  9. Stiff Competition – 3:40
  10. How Are You? – 4:22
  11. Oh Claire – 1:01