Catalina Vicens – ll Cembalo di Partenope: A Renaissance Harpsichord Tale (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:06:20 minutes | 1,45 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Carpe Diem Records

Catalina Vicens: Italian music for harpsichord on the world’s oldest playable instrument (Naples 1525).

This new album of harpsichordist Catalina Vicens is a unique, multifaceted musical and poetic project. First, it features the world’s oldest playable harpsichord, a priceless treasure that dwells today in the National Music Museum of Vermillion, SD. She plays music from Naples, Italy from around 1525, the year when the instrument that she plays was actually built in Naples. Secondly, Ms Vicens conceived an imaginary tale of the life and story of that very instrument, partly based on historical facts, partly on poetic inspiration emerging from her encounter with this priceless treasure of a historical harpsichord. The CD comes with a free audiobook download of that same story, narrated by Ms Vicens herself and accompanied with original music from the CD.

1. Fantasia del primo tono (06:38)
2. La villanella (01:32)
3. Gagliarda napolitana (02:53)
4. Obra sobre cantus firmus (03:57)
5. Amor quando fioriva mia speme (02:05)
6. Me lassera tu mo (01:08)
7. Calata ala spagnola (01:55)
8. Poi che volse la mia stella (03:26)
9. Pavana alla ferrarese (02:38)
10. Ricerchare de Jacobo fogliano (01:26)
11. Cantai mentre nel core (01:40)
12. Per dolor mi bagno el viso (03:47)
13. Stavasi amor (01:32)
14. Che farala che dirala (01:15)
15. Recercada di mã ca in bologna (02:54)
16. Plus ne regres (Plusieurs regretz) (02:43)
17. Vi (Villano) recercada (01:44)
18. Madame vous aves mon cuor (03:49)
19. Recercada per b quadro del primo tono (05:35)
20. Tant que vivray (01:23)
21. Volta de Spagna (01:33)
22. Sortemplus disminuita (Sortez mes pleurs) (03:34)
23. Chi la dirra (Qui la dira) (03:10)
24. Recercata del primo tono (04:16)