Artist: Bill Evans
Title: Some Other Time: The Lost Session From The Black Forest
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1968
Duration: 01:33:40
Quality: High-Fidelity DSF Stereo DSD128/5.64MHz
Label: 2xHD

This double album includes 93 minutes of never before heard captivating studio recordings by pianist Bill Evans in solo, duo and trio settings and is only the second release —(and the only studio album) to feature the short-lived Bill Evans Trio with drummer Jack DeJohnette and bassist Eddie Gomez. Recently unearthed, these tracks were taken from a session in June 1968, only five days after the trio’s triumphant performance at the Montreux Jazz Festival. Recorded by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer (HGBS) and Joachim-Ernst Brendt in Germany, these songs were originally intended for the legendary MPS label but for some reason were never released. It’s a remarkable document of an under-represented period in the career of one of the icons of jazz.

“There was big excitement about us going to the studio. This record represents a time and space where (Evans) was exploring new approaches to standard repertoire rhythmically and harmonically.” –Jack DeJohnette

“Five Stars … another brilliant achievement … a terrific unreleased recording … there is a bonafide excitement for a 48 year old Bill Evans recording finally getting released … the acoustics are excellent … you can hear the vibrant attention to detail on DeJohnette’s cymbals and Eddie Gomez’s full-bodied double bass. Evans’ Steinway is crystalline. When the chords swell, the tonal expansion is palpable. The quieter moments are delicate, with richness. The overall mix is excellent … a valuable addition to any jazz collection!” –Audiophile Audition


01 – You Go To My Head
02 – Very Early
03 – What Kind Of Fool Am I
04 – I’ll Remember April
05 – My Funny Valentine
06 – Baubles, Bangles And Beads (Duo)
07 – Turn Out The Stars
08 – It Could Happen To You
09 – In A Sentimental Mood
10 – These Foolish Things
11 – Some Other Time
12 – You’re Gonna Hear From Me
13 – Walkin’ Up
14 – Baubles, Bangles And Beads (Trio)
15 – It’s All Right With Me (Incomplete)
16 – What Kind Of Fool Am I
17 – How About You
18 – On Green Dolphin Street
19 – Wonder Why
20 – Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be)
21 – You’re Gonna Hear From Me (Alternate Take)