Artist: Becca Stevens Band
Title: Perfect Animal
Genre: Folk
Release Date: 2015
Duration: 00:48:46
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Universal Music Classics

“I wanted to use the word ‘animal’ in the album title, because writing and recording this set of songs was like taming something that had a life of its own,” Becca Stevens says of her revelatory new album Perfect Animal (April 2015). “The title came from the track ‘Imperfect Animals’ which I wrote about the instinct to strive for perfection pulling against the understanding that such a condition is not humanly possible. That’s a big theme for me, and it’s something that I go through in my daily life, in my relationships, and every time I write a song.”

Perfect Animal marks a quantum musical leap for the North Carolina-bred, New York-based artist. It boasts her most personally-charged songwriting and her most urgent, impassioned singing to date, along with vivid, adventurous arrangements that show off her fiercely expressive guitar work as well as the talents of her longstanding band: keyboardist/accordionist Liam Robinson and bassist Chris Tordini, both of whom Stevens has worked with since 2005, and drummer/percussionist Jordan Perlson, who joined three years later.


  1. I Asked – 3:34
  2. Imperfect Animals – 5:08
  3. Thinkin Bout You – 4:06
  4. Be Still – 5:05
  5. 105 – 4:37
  6. Tillery – 5:37
  7. You Make Me Wanna – 5:07
  8. Reminder – 5:02
  9. Higher Love – 5:21
  10. JAC – 5:13