Andy Partridge - Black Sea (2017) [FLAC] Download

Artist: Andy Partridge
Title: Black Sea
Genre: Pop
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 01:17:19
Quality: FLAC Stereo 16bit/44,1kHz
Size: 499.58 MB
Tracks: 19
Source: XTC-Black_Sea-(APEBD104)-REMASTERED-CD-FLAC-2017-WRE

Black Sea is the fifth in a series of remixed & expanded XTC classic albums. The album has been mixed for 5. 1 Surround Sound from the original multi-track studio master tapes by Steven Wilson with input from Andy Partridge & is fully approved by XTC. CD: features a completely new stereo album mix by Steven Wilson with many of the bonus tracks also newly mixed by Steven Wilson. Blu-ray: a 5. 1 Surround mix in 24bit/96khz mixed from the original multi-track tapes available in LPCM and DTS HD MA. Additional Blu-ray features include: The new stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio. Additional songs from the album sessions in stereo & 5. 1, several newly mixed by Steven Wilson. The original stereo album mix in hi-res stereo + bonus tracks. Instrumental versions (mixed by Steven Wilson) of all new album & several bonus mixes in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio. Many album tracks in demo form as recorded (mostly live) at Phonogram Studios prior to the main album sessions. Three Andy Partridge demos from Phonogram studios. Three Andy Partridge demos from Swindon Town Hall. Promo films for Towers Of London, Generals & Majors & Respectable Street. Presented in special packaging with expanded booklet & sleeve-notes by Andy Partridge, Dave Gregory, Terry Chambers, Steve Lillywhite & Hugh Padgham.

XTC continue on with the big drum sound of Drums and Wires, adding more polish and an even heavier-hitting approach for Black Sea — their arrangements are fuller and they rock harder than ever before. Where Drums and Wires implied social commentary, Black Sea more directly addresses sociopolitical concerns, handling them not strictly in a theoretical sense, but rather showing a human response to the circumstances. Of course, the band’s skewed outlook and mid-’60s pop sense keeps things from becoming too heavy — included are some of their finest songs, like “Respectable Street,” “Generals and Majors,” and “Towers of London,” as well as the thoroughly enjoyable pop fluff throwaway “Sgt. Rock (Is Going to Help Me)” to keep the mood light. All in all, there isn’t a bad song in the bunch — Black Sea is their most consistent album to date — and although XTC always operated on the fringes, the album is their most commercial-sounding, fitting in perfectly with the new wave of the late ’70s/early ’80s. [The 1987 CD reissue adds three tracks — “Smokeless Zone,” “Don’t Lose Your Temper,” and “The Somnambulist” — to the middle of the album. And while the extras are welcomed (especially “Don’t Lose Your Temper”), they really should have been tacked on to the end rather than disrupting the original.]


  1. XTC – Respectable Street – 3:39
  2. XTC – Generals And Majors – 4:08
  3. XTC – Living Through Another Cuba – 4:53
  4. XTC – Love At First Sight – 3:12
  5. XTC – Rocket From A Bottle – 3:37
  6. XTC – No Language In Our Lungs – 4:53
  7. XTC – Towers Of London – 5:27
  8. XTC – Paper And Iron (Notes And Coins) – 4:20
  9. XTC – Burning With Optimism’s Flames – 4:22
  10. XTC – Sgt. Rock (Is Going To Help Me) – 4:03
  11. XTC – Travels In Nihilon – 7:16
  12. XTC – Respectable Street (Single Version) – 3:08
  13. XTC – Smokeless Zone – 3:50
  14. XTC – Don’t Lose Your Temper – 2:32
  15. XTC – Take This Town – 4:09
  16. XTC – Ban The Bomb – 2:40
  17. XTC – Towers Of London (Early Version) – 6:11
  18. XTC – The Somnambulist – 4:38
  19. Andy Partridge – History Of Rock ‘n’ Roll – 0:21

Download Links :