Amanda Shires – To The Sunset (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 32:20 minutes | 690 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Silver Knife Records

Amanda Shires is part of the generation that walks in the footsteps of Waylon Jennings and other outlaws. A kind of New Wave built upon the careers of Jason Isbell (her husband), Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson or even Margo Price. A roots singer and violinist, Shires incarnates a spiritual and poetic presence that leaves you moved. For her fifth album, this woman from Texas pops the champagne. Of course, she doesn’t forget her lyrical side, but with To The Sunset she sets her music on fire. Let’s rock’n’roll! With electric guitar distortions on Eve’s Daughter, effects pedal and a slightly fuzzy microphone, Eve sets the atmosphere in the garden of Eden. But the album, produced by Dave Cobb, is so much more than just a collection of tracks packed with synths and rock rhythms. No, Amanda Shires is a true songwriter who doesn’t rely on her compositions. To The Sunset highlights topics such as self-esteem (Mirror, Mirror), addiction, and mental illness (Wasn’t I Paying Attention). Original and creative, striking and subversive, Shires says it all: “I’m rock’n’roll and you’re golf!”. It’s real contemporary poetry, recorded at the mythical RCA Studio A and this time not with her husband on the guitar. Instead we find Peter Levin on piano, Jerry Pentecost on drums and even Dave Cobb on the bass. A record that honors the history of country music as well as American music in general.  – Clara Bismuth

01. Parking Lot Pirouette
02. Swimmer
03. Leave It Alone
04. Charms
05. Eve’s Daughter
06. Break Out The Champagne
07. Take On The Dark
08. White Feather
09. Mirror, Mirror
10. Wasn’t I Paying Attention