Artist: Alisa Weilerstein, Staatskapelle Berlin, Daniel Barenboim
Title: Elgar & Carter: Cello Concertos
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2012
Duration: 01:02:18
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/48kHz
Label: Decca

Alisa Weilerstein makes one of Decca’s most exciting debuts in recent years. The renowned cellist is joined by Decca fan-favorite Daniel Barenboim. Alisa Weilerstein is the first cellist in many years to play the Elgar Concerto with Daniel Barenboim, and his decision to record it with her is a major statement. Her technique has earned her international recognition.

Making her debut on Decca, Alisa Weilerstein presents three major works of the cello repertoire with Daniel Barenboim leading the Staatskapelle Berlin. The star vehicle, naturally, is Edward Elgar’s Concerto in E minor, which Weilerstein plays with commanding presence, rich tone, and emotional depth. Most listeners will be drawn primarily to this performance because of the piece’s familiarity, and Weilerstein’s charisma and passionate playing make it the album’s main attraction. Yet listeners should give Weilerstein and Barenboim credit for following the Elgar with an important if not instantly recognizable or approachable modernist work, Elliott Carter’s powerful Cello Concerto. Weilerstein is quite bold to play this intensely dramatic and angular composition, and while it’s unlikely to appeal to the majority of fans who adore the Elgar, it deserves its place on the program for its seriousness and extraordinary displays of solo and orchestral writing. To close, Weilerstein plays Max Bruch’s Kol Nidrei, a Romantic work that returns the program to a mellow and melancholy mood and brings the CD to a satisfying close. Decca’s reproduction is excellent, putting Weilerstein front and center with full resonance, but not leaving the vibrant accompaniment of the orchestra too far behind her. ~~AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson


  1. Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85 – I. Adagio – Moderato – 7:48
  2. Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85 – II. Lento – Allegro molto – 4:26
  3. Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85 – III. Adagio – 5:08
  4. Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85 – IV. Allegro – 11:55
  5. Cello Concerto – I. Drammatico – 1:40
  6. Cello Concerto – II. Allegro Appassionato – 2:44
  7. Cello Concerto – III. Giocoso – 3:12
  8. Cello Concerto – IV. Lento – 3:40
  9. Cello Concerto – V. Maestoso – 3:04
  10. Cello Concerto – VI. Tranquillo – 4:11
  11. Cello Concerto – VII. Allegro Fantastico – 3:48
  12. Kol Nidrei, Adagio For Cello, Opus 47 – 10:48