Alexis Cole – Dazzling Blue: The Music Of Paul Simon (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 53:19 minutes | 1,64 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Chesky Records
Binaural+ Stereo Recording

Inspired by Paul Simon’s contributions, Alexis Cole offers this very special treatment of his music. With Dazzling Blue, vocalist Cole and producers David Chesky and Nicholas Prout sifted through some of Simon’s lesser known compositions. Herein they are presented in unalloyed simplicity, emphasizing the incandescent quality, and unadorned beauty of his lyrics.

Ms. Cole has a marvelous voice of great depth. Her clear, warm resonance strips away all ornamentation and gets you to the marrow of the songwriter’s stories. The vocals are haunting, and a testament to Cole’s cross-cultural vocal training. Cole is joined by an excellent group of musicians whose collective body of work is well known to roots music aficionados. Jeff Haynes and Gus Courtsunis on percussion; Marvin Sewell on acoustic and electric guitars; Mark Peterson on bass, Julie Harris on Native American flute, and background vocals from Maria Quintanilla and Evan Sundquist; they are all an integral part of the whole.
Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appears right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording. Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. Also these new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event. You will hear some of the most natural and pure music ever recorded.

01 – St. Judy’s Comet
02 – Jonah
03 – Dazzling Blue
04 – Something So Right
05 – Another Galaxy
06 – Nobody
07 – Song About The Moon
08 – Everything About It Is A Love Song
09 – Long, Long Day
10 – Love
11 – That’s Where I Belong
12 – Quiet

Produced by David Chesky, Alexis Cole, Jeff Haynes & Nicholas Prout.
Recorded using a B & K Binaural head, MSB A/D Converter, and Crystal microphone cable on September 23, 2015.
Engineered by Mor Mezich & Nicholas Prout. Edited & Mastered by Nicholas Prout.

Alexis Cole – vocals
Julie Harris – flute
Marvin Sewell – guitar
Mark Peterson – bass
Jeff Haynes – percussion
Gus Courtsunis – percussion
Maria Quintanilla – background vocals
Evan Sundquist – background vocals