Aerosmith – Rocks (1976/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 34:36 minutes | 793 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Columbia

Rocks is Aerosmith’s fourth studio album and was originally released on May 3, 1976. It is one of their most successful albums and has been ranked at #176 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. All three of its singles (“Last Child”, “Rats in the Cellar”, and “Back in the Saddle”) charted on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Rocks shipped platinum when it was released, and has since gone quadruple platinum.

Few albums have been so appropriately named as Aerosmith’s 1976 classic Rocks. Despite hard drug use escalating among bandmembers, Aerosmith produced a superb follow-up to their masterwork Toys in the Attic, nearly topping it in the process. Many Aero fans will point to Toys as the band’s quintessential album (it contained two radio/concert standards after all, “Walk This Way” and “Sweet Emotion”), but out of all their albums, Rocks did the best job of capturing Aerosmith at their most raw and rocking. Like its predecessor, a pair of songs have become their most renowned — the menacing, hard rock, cowboy-stomper “Back in the Saddle,” as well as the downright viscous funk groove of “Last Child.” Again, even the lesser-known tracks prove essential to the makeup of the album, such as the stimulated “Rats in the Cellar” (a response of sorts to “Toys in the Attic”), the Stonesy “Combination,” and the forgotten riff-rocker “Get the Lead Out.” Also included is the apocalyptic “Nobody’s Fault,” the up-and-coming rock star tale of “Lick and a Promise,” and the album-closing ballad “Home Tonight.” With Rocks, Aerosmith appeared to be indestructible.

01 – Back In The Saddle
02 – Last Child
03 – Rats In The Cellar
04 – Combination
05 – Sick As A Dog
06 – Nobody’s Fault
07 – Get The Lead Out
08 – Lick And A Promise
09 – Home Tonight

Tom Hamilton – bass guitar, guitar on “Sick As a Dog”
Joey Kramer – drums, percussion, backing vocals on “Home Tonight”
Joe Perry – guitars, vocals, six-string bass on “Back in the Saddle”, lap steel guitar on “Home Tonight”, bass guitar on “Sick As a Dog”
Steven Tyler – lead vocals, keyboards, bass guitar on “Sick as a Dog”
Brad Whitford – guitars

Additional personnel:
Paul Prestopino – banjo on “Last Child”

Jack Douglas – production, arrangement, backing vocals on “Home Tonight”
Aerosmith – production, arrangement
Jay Messina – engineering
Rod O’Brien – assistant engineering
Sam Ginsburg – assistant engineering

Recorded February – March 1976 at The Wherehouse and The Record Plant. Produced by Aerosmith and Jack Dogulas.

Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes.