Aerosmith – Permanent Vacation (1987/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:46 minutes | 1,13 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Geffen Records

Permanent Vacation, Aerosmith’s ninth studio album, represents a pivotal outing in their illustrious career. The group, one of America’s bestselling rock acts, has earned multiple GRAMMY wins and holds the record for most gold and multi-platinum albums by any American rock band. This seminal classic has been deemed by fans and critics as the band’s “comeback album” and includes the massive hits “Rag Doll,” “Dude (Looks Like A Lady)” and “Angel.” Permanent Vacation would become one of the band’s most successful works, selling over five million copies in the United States. The album also saw milestone success overseas, becoming the band’s first album to reach both Silver and Gold status in the United Kingdom.

4 stars out of 5 – “…Cleaned-up band make real ‘comeback’ album, thanks to Bon Jovi’s songwriters penning some hits and MTV introducing the band to Bon Jovi’s fans.” – Q

The much-ballyhooed reunion of the original Aerosmith lineup had pretty much fallen flat on its face after 1985’s hit-and-miss Done With Mirrors. Realizing that the band simply couldn’t do it alone, A&R guru John Kalodner capitalized on the runaway success of Run-D.M.C.’s cover of “Walk This Way” and decided to draft in the day’s top hired hands, including knob-twiddler extraordinaire Bruce Fairbairn and career-revitalizing song doctors Desmond Child and Jim Vallance. Together, they would help craft Permanent Vacation, the album which would reinvent Aerosmith as ’80s and ’90s superstars. Yet, despite the mostly stellar songwriting, which makes it a strong effort overall, some of the album’s nooks and crannies haven’t aged all that well because of Fairbairn’s overwrought production, featuring an exaggerated sleekness typical of most mid-’80s pop-metal albums. Furthermore, Desmond Child’s pedantic writing often compromises the timeliness of even the best material. On the other hand, pre-fab radio gems like “Rag Doll” and “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” remain largely unassailable from a “delivering the goods” perspective. But remember kids, this is Aerosmith, so that can only mean one thing: a guaranteed number of incredible tracks for any time and place. These include the earthy voodoo blues of “St. John” and the excellent hobo-harmonica fable of “Hangman Jury.” And, although some of the remaining cuts lean to the filler side, both the awkwardly Caribbean title track and the cover of the Beatles’ “I’m Down” are well executed. Finally, the crowd-pleasing schmaltz of “Angel” showcases the band at the peak of its power ballad cheese. A valiant effort, this album proved to be the crucial catalyst in reintroducing Aerosmith to the masses, but if you’re looking for an even better example of the band’s renewed strength, check out Pump first.

01 – Heart’s Done Time
02 – Magic Touch
03 – Rag Doll
04 – Simoriah
05 – Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
06 – St. John
07 – Hangman Jury
08 – Girl Keeps Coming Apart
09 – Angel
10 – Permanent Vacation
11 – I’m Down
12 – The Movie