Aerosmith – Draw The Line (1977/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:22 minutes | 815 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Columbia

Draw the Line is Aerosmith’s fifth album and was originally released on December 1, 1977. It was recorded in 1977 at The Cenacle (an abandoned convent) and The Record Plant. Produced by Aerosmith and Jack Douglas, it is considered to be one of the great Heavy Metal albums. Draw the Line featured the singles “Draw the Line”, “Kings and Queens”, and “Get It Up”. It peaked at #11 on the Billboard 200 chart in 1978 and was certified double platinum by the RIAA in 1996.

Renting out an abandoned convent on the outskirts of New York City to record the follow-up to the hellacious Rocks may not have been the best idea, but 1977’s Draw the Line still managed to be another down-and-dirty Aerosmith release. While it wasn’t as awe-inspiring as their last two albums — the members have said that the music suddenly got “cloudy” around this time (due to in-band fighting/ego clashes, excessive living, etc.), Draw the Line catches fire more times than not. Unlike their most recent album successes, the band shies away from studio experimenting and dabbling in different styles; instead they return to simple, straight-ahead hard rock. The album-opening title track features a gloriously abrasive Joe Perry slide guitar riff and has been featured in concert ever since, while the punk-esque “Bright Light Fright” featured Perry’s first ever lead vocal spot on an Aerosmith record. Other highlights include a reworking of the blues obscurity “Milk Cow Blues,” which Perry’s pre-Aerosmith group, the Jam Band, played live, as well as “I Wanna Know Why,” “Critical Mass,” “Get It Up,” “Kings and Queens,” and “Sight for Sore Eyes.” Draw the Line would turn out to be the last true studio album from Aerosmith’s original lineup for nearly a decade.

01 – Draw the Line
02 – I Wanna Know Why
03 – Critical Mass
04 – Get It Up
05 – Bright Light Fright
06 – Kings and Queens
07 – The Hand That Feeds
08 – Sight for Sore Eyes
09 – Milk Cow Blues

Steven Tyler – lead vocals
Joe Perry – guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Bright Light Fright”
Brad Whitford – guitar
Tom Hamilton – bass
Joey Kramer – drums

Additional personnel:
Stan Bronstein – saxophone on “I Wanna Know Why” and “Bright Light Fright”
Scott Cushnie – piano on “I Wanna Know Why”, “Kings and Queens” and “Critical Mass”
Karen Lawrence – backing vocals on “Get It Up”

Producers: Aerosmith, Jack Douglas
Executive producers: David Krebs, Steve Leber
Engineer: Jay Messina
Assistant engineer: Sam Ginsberg
Mastering: George Marino
Arrangers: Aerosmith, Jack Douglas
Art direction: David Krebs, Steve Leber
Cover illustration: Al Hirschfeld

Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes.