Mario Brunello – Tartini – Concerti e Sonate per Violoncello Piccolo (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:23:50 minutes | 1,57 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Arcana

To mark the 250th anniversary of the death of Giuseppe Tartini, Mario Brunello and the Accademia dell’Annunciata commemorate one of the great partnerships in the history of eighteenth-century music: the relationship between Tartini and Antonio Vandini, a cellist born in Bologna (cradle of the Italian cello school). Coupled here for the first time are Tartini’s two cello concertos, probably intended for his friend and colleague, alongside the only surviving concerto by Vandini himself. According to reports of the period, he ‘played in such a way as to make his instrument speak’, that instrument being the violoncello piccolo practiced by the virtuosos of Padua in the mid-eighteenth century, here played by Mario Brunello.

The expressive heart of the concertos is to be found in the beautiful slow movements: in Tartini the long, eloquent melodic arches create a free inner monologue, while the rich ornamentation recalls folk motifs from the Balkan region, which he may have known.

In his marvelous Andantino, Vandini gives the cello a gently symmetrical Vivaldian melody that expands in dialogue with the orchestra.


1. Mario Brunello – I. Allegro
2. Mario Brunello – II. Andantino
3. Mario Brunello – III. Allegro
4. Mario Brunello – I. Adagio
5. Mario Brunello – II. Andante
6. Mario Brunello – III. Allegro
7. Mario Brunello – I. Affettuoso
8. Mario Brunello – II. Allegro
9. Mario Brunello – I. Allegro
10. Accademia dell’Annunciata – I. Allegro assai
11. Accademia dell’Annunciata – II: Andante
12. Accademia dell’Annunciata – III: Presto
13. Mario Brunello – I. Allegro
14. Mario Brunello – II: Larghetto
15. Mario Brunello – III. Allegro assai
16. Mario Brunello – I. Un poco largo
17. Mario Brunello – II. Allegro moderato
18. Mario Brunello – III. Grave ed espressivo
19. Mario Brunello – IV. Allegro
20. Accademia dell’Annunciata – I. Grave
21. Accademia dell’Annunciata – II. Allegro
22. Accademia dell’Annunciata – III-IV. Adagio – Allegro assai