Kath Bloom – Bye Bye These Are The Days (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Kath Bloom – Bye Bye These Are The Days (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 37:21 minutes | 391 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Dear Life Records

It can be hard to write about Kath Bloom’s songwriting without drawing on a vocabulary that could diminish her. There is a nakedness to her writing, a beguiling, wondrous quality, as if we might cast her as the Mary Oliver of music.

It can be easy, too, to lump Bloom in with the great gang of cult folk outsiders – her voice, a strange, rapturous thing, lends itself well, as does her biography. After recording a series of albums with Loren Mazzacane Connors in the early 1980s, the Connecticut songwriter stepped back from music until 1995, when her song Come Here was used in the Richard Linklater film Before Sunrise. A period of veneration and rediscovery followed, including a tribute album featuring Bill Callahan, Scout Niblett, Devendra Banhart.

But the 10 songs on Bye Bye These Are the Days are characterised by their strength, vitality and urgency, and they have a sense of movement and need for speed. Bloom sings of lives exploding, houses on fire, the past following us “like a boulder”. In the extraordinary Leaving Things, she sings: “All I know is we are running / Come on, come on, come on.”


1. Kath Bloom – Blinded
2. Kath Bloom – Your House Is Burning
3. Kath Bloom – Middle of the Night
4. Kath Bloom – Found Love
5. Kath Bloom – How Do You Survive
6. Kath Bloom – Let’s Get Going
7. Kath Bloom – Deeper Shadows
8. Kath Bloom – Open Road
9. Kath Bloom – Leaving Things
10. Kath Bloom – Bye Bye



Back To Top