Julie Wilson – Julie Wilson At The St. Regis (1958/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:57 minutes | 623 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Recorded live at the midtown Manhattan hotel where she long held court, Julie Wilson at the St. Regis captures the singer in her natural environment, perfectly evoking the smoky, after-hours sophistication of the postwar cabaret circuit. Paired here with the Marshall Grant Trio, Wilson clearly relishes the live setting: the songs forgo subtlety and restraint in favor of crowd-pleasing theatrics, shifting easily from torch song melancholy to tongue in cheek vamps. Wilson’s sly, husky vocals have never sounded better than on songs like “Most Gentlemen Don’t Like Love,” “Married I Can Always Get,” and “I Refuse to Rock and Roll.”


1. Julie Wilson – Most Gentlemen Don’t Like Love (Remastered)
2. Julie Wilson – Twelve Good Men And True (Remastered)
3. Julie Wilson – Every Baby Needs A Da Da Daddy (Remastered)
4. Julie Wilson – What’s A Woman? (Remastered)
5. Julie Wilson – Too Naive (Remastered)
6. Julie Wilson – What Is There To Say? (Remastered)
7. Julie Wilson – I Refuse To Rock And Roll (Remastered)
8. Julie Wilson – A Man Could Be A Wonderful Thing (Remastered)
9. Julie Wilson – Unathletic Me (Remastered)
10. Julie Wilson – Married, I Can Always Get (Remastered)
11. Julie Wilson – A Woman Without Experience (Remastered)
12. Julie Wilson – A Bad Bad Woman (Remastered)