Jerry Cook Quartet + – Walk in the Park (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:47 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cellar Live

A hard swinging, soulful debut by Vancouver saxophonist Jerry Cook. Walk In The Park sizzles from the opening downbeat.

A Walk In The Park is an absolute delight to listen to from start to finish. The complexity is in the simplicity. The music reflects how Jerry is as a person: swinging and soulful. The all-star Vancouver rhythm section of pianist Chris Gestrin, bassist John Lee and drummer Jesse Cahill provide the perfect foil for Jerry’s bluesy flourishes a la Arnett Cobb, Stanley Turrentine and Willis Jackson.

Tenor saxophonist Jerry Cook lists Stanley Turrentine and Gene Harris among his influences, so when he leads a jazz ensemble, you just know it will be a soulful, bluesy outing. This album of standards, ballads and originals was recorded soon after Cook debuted his quartet at Frankie’s Jazz Club in Vancouver last fall. His bandmates are Chris Gestrin (piano), Jesse Cahill (drums) and John Lee (bass.) The ”+” in the band’s name is for guitarist Dave Sikula, who joins on certain tunes. Look forward to their Horace Silver-inspired take on ”Summertime,” a surprisingly swinging arrangement of ”Smile” and their transparent touch on ”Soul Eyes.”

Robert Rowat –C B C Summer 2020 guide


01. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Walk in the Park
02. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Lazy Days
03. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Smile
04. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Soul Eyes
05. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Hello My Lovely
06. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Scarlet Ribbons
07. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Summertime
08. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Cook’s Blues
09. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Georgia on My Mind
10. Jerry Cook Quartet + – Nature’s Lament